asebosome.blogg.se

Plex mkv files
Plex mkv files




  1. #PLEX MKV FILES MOVIE#
  2. #PLEX MKV FILES FREE#

#PLEX MKV FILES MOVIE#

Funnily enough I was just reading Don's note about burning foreign language subtitles into the movie file itself. As soon as you turn those on in Plex, the media server will force a transcode of the video, even with a file that will normally direct stream (which all of my files do). Those files in my 2001 example are just English CC and English subs that I would want to be optional. The problem I have with Plex is with "soft subs". If the movie is foreign language, I will always burn in the subtitles. It's the closest to "set it and forget it" as I've seen. And almost always below the target when additional compression is applied via x264's preset system. However, the final output video bitrate is still usually below or near the target. But since this script modifies CVBR mode with a minimum quality threshold, x264 is allowed to exceed these bitrate limits to maintain that quality level.

plex mkv files

These targets are technically maximum bitrates. To follow that template, the transcode-video.sh script configures the x264 video encoder within HandBrake to use a constrained variable bitrate (CVBR) mode, and to automatically target bitrates appropriate for different input resolutions. And transcoding "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011)," while much smaller in output size, lacks detail compared to the original. HandBrake's "AppleTV 3" preset is closest to what I wanted but transcoding "Planet Terror (2007)" with it results in a huge video bitrate of 19.9 Mbps, very near the original of 22.9 Mbps. Not trying to persuade you, but these are things I would not have known or considered if I hadn't been through it already. I think if you are going to mainly run Plex locally and run it off of a Home Theater PC, that uncompressed is the way to go, and if you want to use an Apple TV, Roku, PS4, or using the files remotely, then compressing beforehand would be preferable in most cases. For many devices, Plex will not direct stream an uncompressed mkv locally.the setting I use can direct stream a movie with no additional compression at 8,000 kpbs.you'll need a server/computer with a good CPU to handle compressing 30GB mkv's versus.If you want the files available remotely, or use home devices that won't play an uncompressed mkv, Plex will compress on the fly, but.You will need about 15 TB for your 500 discs vs about 3.5 TB with x264.

plex mkv files

  • By not encoding any files, you'll save a lot of time over 500 discs since you only need to rip them.
  • Some upsides and downsides to our encoded vs non-encoded workflow and Plex: The seamless branched files would each need their own files, yes.

    plex mkv files

    If I can, hopefully, move next year it would also be nice to have all my media mobile friendly instead of hauling more boxes around that could happily stay in a storage locker.

    plex mkv files

    #PLEX MKV FILES FREE#

    Another region free Oppo player is probably going to set me back a similar amount to a bunch of hard discs and a server.etc. I'm guessing this will be quite a costly undertaking, but my Oppo blu-ray player is showing its age and is a bit fussy with some modern discs, and doesn't even play any episodes on any of my Sopranos Blu-rays. I don't want to introduce compression to movie files themselves, but I'd probably be looking at ripping select special features from some titles (chiefly Criterion and Masters of Cinema releases) and I'd likely compress those a little via handbrake.ĭoes anyone have any particular advice on planning for all this? In addition, how are discs with seamless branching (The Alien films, Bladerunner.etc) handled when ripping? Will I have to create separate 25-30GB files for each version of a movie? I'm quite interested in possibly ripping my entire Blu-ray collection (some 500+ discs and counting) as 1:1 MKV files and playing them back with Plex, but I'm a touch confused by all the various routes one can go about doing this (NAS, HTPC.etc).






    Plex mkv files